Life is a Handheld Device

Our computer screens and even more so our telephone screens are  intimacy….my text, my tv show, my video, my article, my podcast, my selection, my choice, my private one on one thing

interaction

conversation

what is it that I can not do with my screen

I can not eat it

I cannot drink it

I can not smell from it

I can not touch beyond the surface

whatever happened to virtual reality – a place within my own mind where I can eat, drink, smell, touch and be touched along with everything else.

In this place I am king of my domain, if I can remember that I am in control even when the daemons fly.

Very interesting.  If only I can remember that I am in control and that I can not be harmed in any REAL way..only in this place this virtual space. And Stanley Clark sang, “Life is but a game and there are many ways to play.  It’s up to you to choose.” And the Buddha is said to have said, “Life is but a dream and an awakening.” Awake or asleep, life is a dream of our own creation they say and this is a form of practicing detachment.

Funny how these devices detach us from life and yet when we loose them or can not access them we are consumed with the sense of detachment.

Detachment and intimacy. Off and on. In it. Without it. Immersed. Cut off. They say, practice so as not to be swayed by either extreme.

“Life can be found only in the present moment. The past is gone, the future is not yet here, and if we do not go back to ourselves in the present moment, we cannot be in touch with life.”  Thich Nhat Hanh

Buddhism teaches that a single day of life is worth more than all the treasures of the universe.,: Daisaku Ikeda

About KristaNelson

Author, Speaker, Confidence and Manifestation Coach - www.justgetitdonenow.com
This entry was posted in Daisaku Ikeda, Krista Nelson, SGI, Spirituality, Thich Nhat Hanh and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

